It is important to distinguish between the Bretton ward and the Bretton Parish.

Bretton ward, in the city of Peterborough, covers an area of almost 800 acres to the north-west of the city centre. It is represented by three Councillors on the City Council, who are each elected for a four-year term. Bretton ward has an estimated population of approximately 10,000 people.

The Bretton township has a Parish Council, and is split into two main areas: North Bretton and South Bretton. Bretton ward includes the area of North Bretton. However, South Bretton is now part of the West Ward on Peterborough’s City Council.

North Bretton is home to Bretton Centre, The Pyramid Centre, Bretton Park and Bretton Water Park. South Bretton is significantly smaller, and includes Fitzwilliam Hospital, Copeland Community Centre and borders Nene Park.

Bretton ward faces many challenges, including issues relating to deprivation such as social, financial and digital exclusion. Bretton also has the highest level of unemployment in the city of Peterborough, and more than a quarter of residents hold no educational qualifications. These are issues that are being addressed by the ward Councillors, the Parish Council and the City Council.